Special People We Know and Love

I am participating in a mass blogging day, which you can read more about at the end of this blog.  The theme is “Special People We Know and Love.”  When I think about this, there are so many people who come to mind…so many people who have touched my life and impacted it greatly.

But there is one person in particular who taught me the most about being a mother.  It is my now 17-year-old son.

He was a challenge from the day I went into labor.  After 32 hours of labor and 2 hours of pushing, with the assistance of a vacuum extraction, he finally entered this world.  He came into it with more energy than I knew what to do with and began to greatly test my parenting patience as he made his way into his toddler years.

At 7 years old he was diagnosed with Tourette syndrome.  The journey it took to get there is much too long to share in this blog.  For several years he battled not only the vocal and facial tics but he suffered from a sleeping disorder and experienced frequent episodes of raging.

In the midst of this I was trying to homeschool him.  It was a struggle and in fact, I can still remember him sitting upside down on his head when I was trying to teach him to read.

Many days I spent in tears trying to deal with him.  Sometimes we even ended up on the floor together, crying our eyes out.  Add to
this, I had two younger children to also care for.  So many days I felt like I was going to completely lose it.

Mothering was not turning out to be what I had expected.  I felt like a failure.  This went on for a few years.  I kept a journal throughout those years.  It still brings an ache to my heart when I go back and read some of what I wrote.  But yet it brings an awareness of how important my faith was during this time as well.

I finally decided when he was about to enter 5th grade that I couldn’t do it anymore.  I enrolled him in school but the feeling that I had given up, that I wasn’t able to do it overwhelmed me and I cried for several days.

By the time he entered 6th grade, things began to calm down.  Sure, I had the typical teenage attitude creeping in.  But the tics were virtually
gone.  His sleeping became normal (in fact, he was able to stop taking the medication he had been on which helped him to sleep) and the raging ceased.

By 7th grade there were no more symptoms of Tourette’s.  He had completely changed.  The child who used to challenge me until I thought I would break became this very quiet, subdued and calm person.  To this day it takes quite a bit to rattle his cage even a little.

So why do I consider him to be that special person who taught me so much about parenting?  He forced me to look deep within.  He forced me to learn things about myself that I didn’t really want to.  He stretched me but it grew me.

So often we would rather take the easy route in life.  But the easy route doesn’t allow you the opportunity to learn as much.  It doesn’t test your faith.  And you can end up taking things for granted.

Today, I don’t take anything for granted.  Despite how difficult those years were, I would do them over again.  That’s right, I wouldn’t change a thing.  It drew me closer to my God but it also drew my son and me closer.  With everything we experienced together, there is a special bond that can’t be broken.

“Today I’m participating in a mass blogging day! WOW! Women On Writing has gathered a group of blogging buddies to write about Special People We Know and Love. Why?  We’re celebrating the release of Joanne Lewis’ and Amy Lewis Faircloth’s debut novel. Wicked Good (Telemachus Press, LLC, 2011) is about the unconditional love between a mother and her adopted, special needs son and the adventure that
brings them closer together. Visit The Muffin at http://muffin.wow-womenonwriting.com/ to read what Joanne and Amy have to share about their special people and view the list of all my blogging buddies. Then be sure to visit http://www.amyandjoanne.com/ to learn more about the authors.”

“If you comment on today’s post on this blog or any of the other blogs participating in Everybody’s Talking About Wicked Good People,
you will be entered to win a print copy of Wicked Good by Amy Lewis Faircloth and Joanne Lewis. To read about Amy and Joanne’s Special People and view the list of participating blogs please visit “The Muffin.”

About the Authors

One day two sisters decided to write a book together; what began as a blog became an award winning novel! Wicked Good is the first in the
“Wicked” series.

Amy is the older sister and a full time family law attorney. She loves her 2 sons and nephew, dogs, volunteering at the Bangor Humane Society, being outdoors when it’s nice outside and indoors when it’s not.

Joanne is the younger and a full-time family mediator and Guardian Ad Litem.  She loves her 3 nephews, her grey poodle Frisco, anything to do with the Italian Renaissance, and spending time with her friends and family.

Please visit them at http://www.amyandjoanne.com/.

6 thoughts on “Special People We Know and Love

  1. I love your post! I love it first because you were such a support for your son and I imagine all of the special treatment that you gave him helped to pull him through those difficult days. Secondly, I love it because it brings back memories of a favorite student. He, too, had tourette syndrome. When he was in ninth grade, he still had the problems that you describe, but by the time he reached me in twelfth grade, all he had were the tics. He still had them when I went to his 20th Class Reunion. He has some fancy schmancy job now, making much more money than his poor English teacher ever did. He’s truly a success, and I love him! Thanks so much for your story!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your intimate experience and honest feelings. God creatively uses our children to teach us life lessons. My relationship with the LORD is deeper and more enlightening because of what I have learned through my children. Sometimes when I thought I was teaching my children about faith in God, they taught me a greater truth. Praise God! We must always remember to be teachable.

    Like

  3. This is another great reflection on the power of the parent-child bond. Memorable imagery in your post – particularly the upside down reading lesson! What an inspiring day around the blogosphere this has been!

    Like

  4. What a story of love and strength. Inspiring. I do believe our children can push us beyond limits we ever knew existed or were capable for crossing and remain standing-after. I am always surprised about the depth of love we women are capable of in the hardest times. Your son is blessed. Thanks for sharing, lovely.

    Like

What do you think?

