Parenting Out of Fear

Photo by massagenerd in Stockvault

One trap that I think many moms can fall into is parenting out of fear.  We may be motivated out of fear in such a way that it ends up directing our training, teaching and discipline.

What do I mean by fear?  We fear that if we don’t interfere, our child will get hurt.  We fear that if we don’t put restrictive constraints on our children, they will do something wrong.  We fear saying yes, for it might mean we have made a mistake.

The thing with parenting is that we will make mistakes.  Our children will also make mistakes.  It would be nice to think that at the end of our life, we can look back and say, “I have done it all perfectly” but that just isn’t going to happen.

Life is never certain.  The decisions we make today could have detrimental effects tomorrow.  But if we allow our fears to guide or motivate us, the effects are sure to be worse.

I John 4:18 (ESV) reminds us, “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.  For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”

2 thoughts on “Parenting Out of Fear

  1. Thank you for this encouragement! I have recently given this very thing over to the Lord! I’m trusting Him more now and less in striving to “do it right”. It’s an ongoing battle to be sure. The battle to focus too much on “I gotta get this right! I’ve only got one shot at this! My children only get one childhood! I can’t blow it!” (I, I, I) and not enough focus on just loving God fully and trusting in His grace!

    Like

What do you think?

