God Really Does Have a Plan!

My son at the age of 16 in Civil Air Patrol

I hope you will forgive me for being one of those moms.  You know the type; the mom that needs to brag every once-in-a-while.

You see, today is a very special day for me as a mother.  Not only is it one of my favorite holidays, the 4th of July…well, it has special significance for me.

We are waiting for my 18-year-old son, who just graduated high school, to receive his orders to leave for the Air Force.  So anything patriotic tends to stir something in my mother heart.

But I don’t just want to brag.  That would be a pretty selfish way to spend my time here.

I also want to encourage you as a mom.  You see, God has a plan for our children’s lives.  But we don’t always know what it is.  We may have our own ideas but it is His purpose that prevails.

I remember when my son was about 7 years old and he told me that one day he was going to create a special video game.  This wasn’t going to be one of those shoot ‘em up games.

No way.  This was going to be the type of game where you would help a missionary on his travels.  Pretty ingenious if you ask me.

Okay, so what does this have to do with anything?  Funny thing…this past September he went on a mission’s trip to Haiti.

My son working on a church building project in Haiti

Then a couple of weeks ago, as I was preparing for his graduation party, I pulled out one of his scrapbooks.  In just one book I ran across pictures of him at age 9, sitting inside a C130 at an Air Force base in our city that has since closed down.

There were also pictures of him at the same age taking his first flight in a Cessna plane.  Then for his 10th birthday there were pictures of his military-themed birthday party and a month later, him at the veteran’s cemetery fixing the flags by the soldier’s graves (straightening them out and dusting off the dirt).

All these little remembrances from times past have made me realize how God has been directing his steps.  He really does have a plan for our children’s lives!

So this 4th of July, I hope you have a special one celebrating with your family and friends.  I hope you feel encouraged to know that your children are in God’s hands.

If you think to, would you please say a little prayer for my son and me?  Knowing that God has a plan and then fully releasing him is going to take a lot of faith and strength.

And if you have anything you need prayer for, please send me an email at hizchozen@sbcglobal.net.

© 2012, Stephanie Romero

2 thoughts on “God Really Does Have a Plan!

  1. You can brag all you want about your son! 😉 I know I would be extremely proud of my sons if they not only chose to serve their country but were walking in the will of God. I will be praying for you and your family. God Bless!

    Like

What do you think?

