Blessed When I’m Stressed

Photo by SMercury98 in Flickr

One of the most common words that moms will use to describe their lives is stressed.  Let’s face it; stress seems to come almost naturally when you are trying to spin a bunch of plates in the air.

Whether you are a mom with a baby who isn’t sleeping through the night, you have a couple of kids in diapers, or you are raising teenagers…almost every stage of life brings with it some degree of stress.  That’s not even counting the other roles we may play as wife, housekeeper, volunteer, worker, and the list goes on.

But here is something I am coming to realize more and more…that I am blessed when I am stressed.

Remember the story of Job?  He lost everything.  He lost his children, his wealth, his health and he even lost the respect of his wife.  But through it all, what did he do?  He praised the Lord.

No matter how bad a day I might have…or week, month or year, nothing can compare to what he went through.  Yet how did he respond?

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart.  The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” (Job 1:21)

It didn’t matter whether the Lord gave or took away; Job recognized he was a blessed man.  He recognized God’s worth no matter what was going on in his life.

Are you feeling stressed?  Take the attitude of Job and remember that you are blessed when you are stressed.

© 2012, Stephanie Romero

4 thoughts on “Blessed When I’m Stressed

  1. This blog speaks to many and really puts things in perspective when it comes to looking at how we view stress in our lives. It really opened my eyes to how I should be viewing and responding to stress, according to God’s Word. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Excellent way to think about stress, and conquer it!
    Since you bring up Job, its probbly one story that doesn’t sit well with me. I just don’t like the fact that God would viciously pick on the “little guy” just to prove his point to the devil. Is there any good explanation for this?

    Like

    • Well I tell you, I wrote this blog before I started reading a book that I am now halfway through with. It is called “Terror by Night” and it is the true story of a Christian family. The teen daughter arranged to have the parents and her siblings killed because of a guy. The father ended up surviving gunshot wounds but his wife and two children were killed and then the house was set on fire. He lost everything, including his daughter to prison. Job is referenced quite often in this book and it definitely gets you thinking in a new way. In fact, your questions about Job just might be answered in this book. It was written by Terry Caffey, something I highly recommend.

      Like

What do you think?

