I Will Trust…

Photo by Ryk Neethling in Flickr

In I Samuel 1, we get a glimpse into the heart of a woman who so desired to have a child that she was willing to give him up.  She earnestly prayed and vowed to the Lord that he would belong to Him forever.

This wasn’t just a spiritual releasing of her child.  It was a physical releasing as well; for she would eventually take him to the House of the Lord where he would live.  In verses 27 and 28 she says to Eli the priest, “I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him.  So now I give him to the Lord. For his whole life he will be given over to the Lord.”

If that were me, I would have been a wreck.  I probably would have tried to take back my promise.

You should have seen me the first time I left my firstborn on the playground of his new school.  I could barely keep the tears from flowing in front of him.  It took everything in me to not go and rescue him.

Do you want to know the really sad part about this?  It wasn’t his first day of kindergarten.  It was the first day of 5th grade in a public school, after I had homeschooled him the previous years.

So the idea of dropping my son off at church and leaving him there for someone else to raise; well, it’s just unimaginable.  However, it appears that Hannah managed to hold it together.

In fact in the very next chapter, she prays to the Lord.  She talks about rejoicing in the Lord.  Truth is…I would probably be a little ticked that God had taken me at my word.

So this leaves me thinking…if Hannah could give up her son and in the next moment, praise God, why can’t I so easily entrust the lives of my children to His care?  There seems to be limits in my trust.

“I will trust as long as this or that happens.”

“I will trust if all turns out well.”

“I will trust when I see good come of a situation.”

This isn’t really trust.  It is putting conditions on something that is supposed to be based upon faith.  May I learn to have the faith of Hannah and the ability to praise God, no matter how difficult the releasing.

Do you find it a struggle to 100% release your children, entrusting them to His care?

© 2012, Stephanie Romero

What do you think?

