Enjoy It While You Can

Photo by mvictor in morgueFile

A couple of weekends ago I was feeling a little jealous of my neighbor.  She had just brought home her new baby.

As I was unloading groceries from my car, I glanced toward her house and imagined her inside holding this brand new, precious bundle of joy.  It brought back memories—distant ones.

I even felt a slight pain in my heart, thinking about the fact that my oldest son was now living in Texas (we live in Wisconsin).  My daughter had left for a weekend youth trip.  And I knew my 13-year-old was going to spend most of his weekend holed up in his bedroom.

A cloud quickly covered me.  Here I was, a mother of three but I felt lonely.

What a contrast to the way I felt 12 years ago when my youngest was a year old, my only daughter was two and my oldest was five.  I was far from lonely.  In fact, I remember those days feeling overwhelming.

I think contentment can be a real struggle for moms.  We are sometimes so ready to leave the current season we are in behind, that we don’t realize pretty soon we will be wishing for the old one to come back.

I am reminded of what James says, You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. (James 4:14b).  Translate that to “Each stage of life is a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes…so enjoy it while you can.”

© 2012, Stephanie Romero

2 thoughts on “Enjoy It While You Can

  1. Excellent! My 3 are 14,17, and 18. My season is changing – 18 leaves for Marines at end of month.

    As hard as it was, I miss those younger years

    Praying for you this morning!

    Like

What do you think?

