The Struggle with Guilt

imagesOne of the biggest enemies we face as moms is guilt.  It starts almost as soon as that wee one is laid in our arms.  And it tends to grow as the children get bigger because there’s so much more to feel guilty about!

 

I’ve felt guilty about homeschooling because I felt I was depriving my children of real education.  But then I felt guilty putting them in school because I was throwing them to the wolves (the charge given to me by more than one homeschool mom).

 

I’ve experienced guilt over my leniency in parenting and the times I was too tough.  I felt guilty at times for staying home with my children because I wasn’t contributing financially to the household.  But then I felt guilty when I was working outside the home.

 

As if there wasn’t enough to feel guilty about—I’ve even experienced guilt over the fact I feel guilty!  It can turn into a never-ending vicious cycle…kind of like the Israelites, only it’s more like going around the mountain of guilt instead of Mount Sinai.

 

I wish I could say that I’ve defeated this enemy.  But he constantly finds ways to infiltrate my thoughts, to cause me to question my abilities as a mom.  The problem is that what I’m doing is comparing who I think I should be to what others say I should be…instead of being concerned about who God says I am!

 

When you know who you are in Christ, you don’t have to struggle with guilt.  The more I grow in my relationship with Him, the less of a battle it has been.  But I still haven’t arrived at that place of complete victory.  Which means there is more room for God to work in my heart…as soon as I step out of the way.

 

It’s about surrendering not only my children to Him but who I am as a mother.

 

It’s about accepting that only God is perfect and I will never be.

 

It’s about learning how to seek forgiveness when I really have messed up and then being able to move on.

 

It’s about not attributing everything wrong that happens to what I did or didn’t do.

 

It’s about recognizing the enemy’s lies.

 

It’s about grace.

 

Guilt can no longer reign in my heart when these things are true in my life.  It can’t rob me of peace…sleep…joy…trust…or any other arrow the enemy would throw at me.  It’s defeated by Romans 8:1, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”

 

P.S.  If you haven’t visited my site in a while, check out my new header that I personally designed!

 

© 2015, Stephanie Romero

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Struggle with Guilt

What do you think?

