5 Things I’ve Learned as a Mother

podkcxq9wkIt seems that most of what I’ve learned about myself in the past 40+ years has come through being a mother.  I’ve had many life experiences, which have certainly helped shape me into the person I’ve become.  But what lies beneath the surface of who I am today has been greatly impacted by this role I’ve played.

 

Here are just some of the things I’ve learned in being a mother…

 

1) I have more strength than I ever realized.

 

It’s incredible what a mom can accomplish in just one day. But it’s also amazing what she can do when facing some of the greatest challenges in her life.  Moments when I thought I couldn’t go on, that I couldn’t deal with another problem…God infused an inner strength I didn’t know was possible. This gives me hope that no matter what comes my way, I can do it.

 

2) I don’t give myself enough credit.

 

I’m quick to pass on compliments when it comes to my children because I don’t want to take the blame when they do wrong.  How can I accept one and not the other?  Yet the truth is that I deserve a lot more credit than I give myself.  Sometimes we need to say it out loud, “I’m a good mom.  I may not be perfect, but I have done the best I can.”

 

3) The good I’ve done really does outweigh the bad.

 

Have I messed up as a mom?  More times than I would like.  But if the good and bad were to be put on a scale, it wouldn’t balance.  Although my focus tends to be on the moments I’ve done it wrong, there has been so much I’ve done right.  We moms need to pay greater attention to the good we’ve done.  Not that we don’t learn from our mistakes but we don’t allow them to define us as mothers.

 

4) My influence is greater than I think.

 

There are seasons when it seems my guidance and training haven’t made a difference in my children’s lives.  That their prone to follow the world’s ways rather than the godly ways I’ve tried to show them.  The truth is that God’s Word doesn’t return void and my influence has made a greater impact than I think.  We may not always see immediate results, but God isn’t through with them yet.

 

5) My prayers not only matter, they make a difference.

 

There have been times its felt like my prayers have been bouncing off the walls of heaven…always missing the mark.  They have also felt useless when the very opposite of what I’ve prayed has occurred.  Prayer isn’t about getting what I want.  It’s voicing my concerns to God and entrusting the outcome to Him.  Which means allowing Him to manifest those prayers into His purpose and plan for my children’s lives…even if the answer isn’t what I expected or wanted.

 

What are some of the things you’ve learned in being a mother?

 

© 2015, Stephanie Romero

One thought on “5 Things I’ve Learned as a Mother

What do you think?

